LESSON PLANS          

For the Poet in Your Classrooms or YOU!

"This is a truly joyful collection of lessons, inspirations, and children's poems. It is a lesson book and so much more. As Susan G. Wooldridge writes in the foreword, "Poems allow us to experience the joy of hearing and being heard." What a gift for children, teachers and people of all ages."  Poetry Flash 

​Try these sample lesson plans from Poet-Teachers across the state.  

For a year's worth of lessons, order your copy of Poetry Crossing, 

our widely acclaimed book of 50+ lesson plans for poetry educators and lovers of poetry. This book contains multicultural and diverse lessons, sample poems, step-by-step instructions, easy-to-use handouts, and 164+ poems.  

 

Edited by Phyllis Meshulam, Sonoma County Poet-Teacher and author of

Land of My Father's War (2017), with a foreword by Susan G. Wooldrige, author of poemcrazy:freeing your life with words.

Download a Lesson Plan listed below from Poetry Crossing or from the personal files of our Poet-Teachers

Poetic Elements: Descriptive Language, Personification, Imagery, and Imagination

Plan Description:  Learn about the life of Juan Felipe Herrera, our 21st U.S Poet Laureate and how his early childhood experiences informed much of his writing. Using his poem, "Five Directions to My House" as a model, students can write their own set of directions to a real or imagined home.

Poetic Elements:  Imagination, Repetition

 

Plan Description: Often there are no answers to the questions we have.  Here is an exercise for poems surrounding grief and trauma found in Pablo Neruda's question poems from his Book of Questions.

Poetic Elements:  Bilingual Rhythms

 

Plan Description: In the tradition of Walt Whitman and Pablo Neruda, Juan Felipe Herrera’s “let us gather in a flourishing way” encourages readers to open their minds and hearts to a culturally diverse landscape.

 

 

Poetic Elements: Line Breaks

 

Plan Description:  Kids like water, and even an imaginary trip to a body of water is refreshing and intriguing to them.  What’s more, the river theme and the sample poems offer a concrete illustration of line breaks. 

1 / 1

Please reload

Copyright 2018 California Poets in the Schools

501 (c) (3) nonprofit 

info@cpits.org | Tel 415.221.4201 |  P.O. Box 1328, Santa Rosa, CA 95402